National Cycling League Speeds Through Miami Beach

The Miami Beach Invitational, the inaugural race of the 2023 NCL Cup, will hit Ocean Drive in Miami Beach April 8

Photo courtesy National Cycling League
Photo courtesy National Cycling League

The National Cycling League, the first majority-minority owned professional cycling league, will host the inaugural race of the 2023 NCL Cup April 8, along Ocean Drive in Miami Beach. The NCL Cup is a series of four criterium races in Miami Beach, Atlanta, Denver, and Washington D.C., where teams will compete for a series prize purse of more than $1 million. Co-founded by serial entrepreneur Paris Wallace, the league’s mission is to re-image cycling and turn it into a world-class spectator sport; one that is filled with nonstop action, is easy to watch, and has mixed-gender teams where men and women contribute equally to the scoreboard.

Aligning with its values of equality, diversity, sustainability, and community, the National Cycling League is the first professional sports league that is majority-minority and female-owned, including the likes of NBA star Bradley Beal, former Bachelorette Rachel Lindsay, and the NFL’s Jalen Ramsey, Derwin James, and Casey Hayward.

The 10 mixed-gender participating teams will feature athletes from around the world, including Olympic stars like Daniely Garcia, Paola Muñoz, Leah Kirchmann, Serghei Tvetcov Sergio Henao, and more.

Women's. Photo courtesy National Cycling League
Photo courtesy National Cycling League

The NCL Cup Miami Beach Invitational kicks off at noon, featuring a full day of fun for the entire family. Visitors and locals can watch the race from the exclusive hospitality area VIP seats, or for free at one of Ocean Drive’s famed cafés. The community is encouraged to participate in charity group rides, children’s races, and volunteer opportunities, as well as enjoy food served up by Smorgasburg Miami in the FanFest expo.

Beginning at 3:30 p.m., the professional women’s teams will be introduced ahead of their 4:15 p.m. start time. They will be followed by the professional men’s teams at 6 p.m. Each race is 30 laps of a 1-mile circuit, where points are earned for the first three finishers of every lap. The male and female scores both contribute equally to the total team score and the team with the most total points wins.

For a full schedule of the day’s events, click here.

Facebook Comments